Scallops with Strawberry Salsa

After a fantastic and busy long weekend that included a photo session of some projects I can’t wait to share and that will be available in my Etsy store, a Suns game, and finishing reupholstering this chair I have been working on, I took Monday evening to try out a new recipe.

I picked up some scallops earlier during the week since they were on sale. However, I didn’t quite know what I was going to do with them until I came across this http://food52.com/recipes/13706.   And boy am I glad I did because this recipe was delicious. The strawberry salsa was a perfect compliment to the scallops. Best of all this recipe was very simple and quick to prepare. To make the recipe more of a meal I cooked up some asparagus and some whole wheat spaghetti with a little butter and basil to go with the scallops.

Image

Recipe:

  • 2 handfuls ripe strawberries
  • 1/2 medium shallot, minced
  • 2 tablespoons arugula and basil, minced
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar, or to taste
  • 1/2 pound medium-to-large scallops
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • a few leaves of arugula & basil garnish

Image

  1. First chop your ingredients and then mix the strawberries, shallot, basil, arugula, and red wine vinegar together. I did not have arugula so I substituted some baby kale. I also did not have any red wine vinegar but the recipe states if your strawberries are not that sweet you may want to add some sugar or use balsamic vinegar instead. I was lucky since my strawberries were not that sweet and I did have balsamic vinegar so I used that instead.
  2. Next heat the butter and olive oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Dry and season the scallops with salt and pepper. When butter and oil begin to shimmer, add the scallops to the skillet for about 3 minutes, or until you see the white/cooked portion of the scallop rise about halfway up the side. Flip scallops and cook for another minute or two, until cooked through.strawberries chopped
  3. Finally arrange your scallops on your plate and top with the strawberry salsa. Garnish with the additional basil and arugula. I would also recommend getting medium to large scallops. Mine were small and it was hard to get the strawberry salsa to stay on top of the scallop.

Here is the end result!

scallops 1scallops 2

Hope you enjoyed! Let me know what you think of this recipe and if you try it.

You can also find this and other great recipes on pinterst @ http://www.pinterst.com/oddyellowbird on the foods that make you say yum board.

Bon appetit!

-Jenny-

Leave a Reply

