Kale Pasta Salad

finished in bowl_edited-1

I was wondering around Sprouts Monday after work getting the usual stockings for the week when I stumbled upon the already prepped food section. I usually never really look at this section because both Alan and I like to cook but I have been trying to eat low carb and cooking meat is really getting old. I was originally looking at the chicken salad when my eyes met the kale pasta salad. I know….pasta is not exactly low carb. But I felt like it had been so long since pasta and I had spent some time together. It looked glorious with its pasta and red bell peppers smothered in mayo. I quickly turned the container around to read the ingredients. Desperately hoping there was no tomato’s (I am allergic) in it. And bam not only did it have tomato’s but it had tomato powder, which I don’t even know what that is. Sadly putting the delicious looking kale pasta salad back down I remembered..my phone…the internet. I will look up a recipe on my phone! I did a quick search for kale pasta salad, and low and behold I found one that looked delicious with no tomatoes or mayo (kale-pasta-salad/). So it was even healthier for me. Success! I gathered the remainder of the ingredients needed and headed home to cook.

cheese kale pine nuts

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Whole Wheat Bowtie Pasta
  • 3 Tablespoons Pine Nuts
  • 1/4 cup Olive Oil
  • 6 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 teaspoons Salt, More To Taste
  • 1 teaspoon Black Pepper, More To Taste
  • 1 bunch Kale, Finely Sliced
  • 4 ounces, weight Parmesan Cheese, Shaved
  • 2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

Preparation Instructions:

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain, rinse with cold water, and add to a large bowl. Set aside.

Add pine nuts to a small skillet over low heat. Toast slowly over the course of 8-10 minutes, tossing regularly. Remove from the skillet and set aside.

pine nuts_edited-1

In a large skillet, heat olive oil and garlic over low heat so that the garlic slowly infuses the oil. When the oil starts to cause the garlic to sizzle, stir around so the garlic doesn’t get too brown. When garlic starts to turn golden, add salt and pepper, stir, and set aside for 5 minutes.

sautey garlic_edited-1

After 5 minutes, pour the oil mixture (scraping the salt, pepper, and garlic) all over the bowtie pasta. Toss to combine and set aside.

Set the same skillet (without cleaning it) over medium-high heat. Add the kale and cook for 5 minutes, or until partly wilted.

kale sauteed

Add kale and pine nuts to the pasta and toss it all together. Check to make sure it’s no longer warm, then add Parmesan shavings and toss. Taste for seasonings and add more salt and pepper if needed.

Put in fridge and chill until cold. You can also heat this up and eat it warm. I tried it both ways and they were equally delicious.

You can also add some balsamic and red pepper flakes. The original recipe didn’t call for red pepper flakes but I love all things spicy. It added a nice little kick to the dish. I also used whole wheat pasta instead of regular.

I paired this salad with a nice cut of Organic Grass Feed NY Strip Steak.

finished alan likes

Bon Appetit!

Are you going to try this recipe?

Jenny

Leave a Reply

